Current Long-Term Fellowships
Dr. Daniela Mauceri, Neurobiology, Heidelberg University.

Daniela’s main focus is the investigation of molecular and transcriptional events governing neuronal structural and functional plasticity. She explores the translational aspects of her findings using diverse models of disease.

Link to her own homepage.

Past Long-Term-Fellowships
Dr. Kevin Allen, Department of Clinical Neurobiology, University Hospital Heidelberg and DKFZ

Another recipient of the Long-Term Fellowship in 2017 was Kevin. His main focus is to study neuronal processing of spatial information by different classes of spatially selective cells in the brain. Due to his outstanding scientific achievements in this field, he receives the Fellowship of the Foundation.

Dr. Frederik Graw, BioQuant-Center, Heidelberg University

Frederik’s research interests lie on the development of mathematical and computational methods to analyse how pathogens spread within different tissue environments and how effective immune responses develop.

Link to his own homepage.

Dr. Stefan G. Lechner, Pharmacology Institute, Heidelberg University

Stefan’s research interest revolves around mechanosensation and his group uses modern molecular as well as electrophysiological techniques to elucidate how we perceive “touch”.

Due to his excellent past research and convincing concept, his application for a Long-Term Fellowship for non-tenured research group leaders in 2018 was positively evaluated. Dr. Lechner has been appointed Professor in the Department of Anaesthesiology in Hamburg.

Dr. Steeve Boulant, Virology, Heidelberg University

Steeve’s lab utilizes viruses as a model system to understand cellular mechanisms, from intracellular trafficking to antiviral innate immune response.

Link to his own homepage.

Dr. Carmen Ruiz de Almodovar, Biochemistry Center, Heidelberg University

Carmen’s research interest focusses on understanding the molecular mechanisms that control vascular and nervous system development, and the cross-talk between these two systems.

Due to her excellent research, her application for a Long-Term Fellowship for non-tenured research group leaders in 2017 was positively evaluated.

Shortly thereafter Carmen was appointed full professor at the Mannheim Medical Faculty of Heidelberg University and is now heading the Department for Vascular Dysfunction.

2010: Dr. Friedrich Frischknecht, Department of Infectious Diseases, Parasitology, University Hospital Heidelberg.

In 2014, Dr. Frischknecht was appointed Professor at the University of Heidelberg.

2009: Dr. Robert Grosse, Institute for Pharmacology, University of Heidelberg.

In 2009, Dr. Grosse was appointed Professor at the University of Marburg.

2004-2007: PD Dr. Oliver T. Fackler, Department of Infectious Diseases, Virology, University Hospital of Heidelberg.

In 2007, Dr. Fackler was appointed Professor at the University of Heidelberg.